17-3304 Mariner Avenue Tiyan Barrigada, Guam 96913
671.300.4751 671.300.4752

Four Guam EPA board members sworn in

All Living Things Of The Earth Are One • Manunu Todu I Manlåla’la’

Four Guam EPA board members sworn in

Left to right: Lieutenant Governor Joshua F. Tenorio, Guam EPA Board Member Steven Philip Carbullido, Guam EPA Board Member Moñeka De Oro, Guam EPA Board Member Florida Sanchez, Guam EPA Board Chair Robert Perron, Guam EPA Board Secretary Arlene Acfalle, Governor Lourdes A. Leon Guerrero, Guam EPA Administrator Walter S. Leon Guerrero

May 2, 2019 – (Tiyan, Guam) – Earlier this afternoon, Guam Environmental Protection Agency (Guam EPA) Board of Directors members Steven Philip Carbullido, Moñeka De Oro, Robert A. Perron and Florida M. Sanchez were sworn in by Governor Lourdes A. Leon Guerrero at the governor’s office in Adelup. Board members are appointed by the Governor to three-year terms. The Guam EPA board of directors serve as a policy and appellate body for the agency.

All four of Governor Lourdes A. Leon Guerrero’s appointments to the Guam EPA Board of Directors received unanimous consent and were confirmed by the 35th Guam Legislature on April 25, 2019. Guam EPA welcomes board members Carbullido and De Oro to the board for their first terms, and welcomes back board chairman Robert Perron for his seventh term, and board member Florida Sanchez for her sixth term.

“I am very grateful and appreciative for their commitment to public service. Guam EPA is critical to protecting and preserving the quality of our island’s air, water and land. I am confident in their skills and expertise to guide the agency and to ensure adherence to Guam’s environmental rules and regulations” said Governor Leon Guerrero.

Guam EPA administrator Walter S. Leon Guerrero echoed the governor’s sentiments and added, “We are pleased with our Maga’håga’s appointments to the board of directors. These members add to the value and diversity of our board … in terms of the collective discipline and knowledge that our board offers towards local environmental policy.” Leon Guerrero further added, “I thank our committee chair, Senator Sabina Perez and her colleagues in the legislature for ensuring that these board members were voted upon in this session.”

Perron is the president and general manager for Guåhan Waste Control Incorporated. Sanchez is the business manager for Saguå Mañagu Birthing Center. Carbullido is an environmental engineer with GHD Guam. De Oro is an ecology research technician under a program with the Iowa State University and the University of Guam.

The Guam EPA board of directors regularly scheduled meetings are typically held on the third Thursday of every month at the Guam EPA administration building conference room in Tiyan. The next regular board meeting is tentatively scheduled for Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 4:00 PM.